Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February, 2013

We will be running a number of one day training courses, for both BMA members and non-members, throughout 2013. Below is a list of the courses, the dates on which each will be run and a brief description. To view the complete description of a particular course, including how to book a place, please click on the date that you would like to attend.

Basic Critical Appraisal Skills Workshop
Thursday, 14 March     Thursday, 25 April     Thursday, 16 May
Thursday, 20 June
     Friday, 12 July     Thursday, 17 October

This one day workshop gives an intensive overview of the skills needed and resources available for critical appraisal, and will provide ideas on how these can be used on return to the workplace.

——————————————————————————————————————

Extended Critical Appraisal Skills Workshop
Friday, 17 May    
Thursday, 5 September     Friday, 18 October
Friday, 13 December

This one day workshop is highly interactive and practical with advanced tips and advice. The workshop leaders are all experienced in critical appraisal and will share materials and examples to illustrate important teaching points.

——————————————————————————————————————

Refresher Critical Appraisal Skills Workshop
Friday, 15 March     Friday, 21 June     Friday, 6 September
Thursday, 28 November

This one-day workshop gives a practical refresher and an opportunity to develop existing critical appraisal skills in a practical way within a supportive environment.

——————————————————————————————————————

Facilitating a Critical Appraisal Skills Workshop
Friday, 26 April     Friday, 29 November

This one day workshop is highly interactive and aimed at those who need to facilitate workshops or journal clubs in a clinical setting. The workshop leader is an experienced facilitator who will share materials and examples to illustrate important teaching points.

——————————————————————————————————————

Medical Statistics Course
Monday, 22 April     Wednesday, 5 June     Monday, 23 September
Friday, 22 November

This course aims at introducing doctors or clinical professionals and researchers to standard statistical notions and methods commonly applied in medical research.
UPDATE April 2013: All of the advertised dates for this course have been cancelled.

——————————————————————————————————————

Research Methods Workshop
Monday, 15 July     Monday, 16 December

This one day workshop provides a detailed overview of the main quantitative research methods: what they are, when and how each method is applied, and how the resulting data are analysed and interpreted.

——————————————————————————————————————

If you have any queries about our courses please email: eabraham@bma.org.uk or Tel: 020 7383 6136.

Read Full Post »

Medical Ethics TodayThe Medical Ethics Department of the BMA has made available as free PDF downloads, updates to several of the chapters from Medical Ethics Today : the BMA’s Handbook of Ethics and Law.

The updates are all available on the following page of the BMA website:

http://bma.org.uk/practical-support-at-work/ethics/medical-ethics-today

The full text of the entire book, as originally published last year, is freely accessible to all BMA members as part of our E-Books Collection. It can be accessed directly at the following link:

http://www.dawsonera.com/depp/reader/protected/external/AbstractView/S9781444355635

As with all of the other titles in our E-Books Collection, this e-book can either be read online via your web browser or downloaded as a PDF file to be read offline for up to 7 days 3 days 24 hours (1 day).

After clicking on the above link you will be presented with a log in screen. Just enter your Dawsonera username and password into the boxes labelled Direct Login. If you do not yet have a Dawsonera login please send us an email (e-books@bma.org.uk), quoting your BMA Membership number,  to request one.

Read Full Post »